My favourite new preface

Standard

‘When I wrote “name of book”, people still played tapes on Walkmans, and the most ineresting thing you could do with a mobile phone was to play snake on it. People still rang each other on landlines. People watched videos. There was email, just about, but SMS messaging had yet to take off. There was no Wikipedia and google was not a verb.’
This is the first paragraph of the preface of a book by one of my favorite authors; Scarlet Thomas. I find her books magnificently thought provoking with compelling narratives although the thought provoking parts tend to take a bit of a detour from the narrative. She creates a story that gives you a sense of satisfaction, that you’ve actually figured something out about yourself through finishing her books. It’s her writing that inspired me to start trying to write down the crap that I have floating around in my brain, that there maybe the possibility that my ideas and my storytelling, might be thought provoking and inspire other people to get their ideas out there.
So to Miss Thomas, if somehow you find yourself reading this, I’d like to thank you for giving me a reason to try, for sharing with us some truly original stories and for making me realise that you don’t have to be moving in a specific direction in life in order to potentially produce something brilliant.

Leave a Reply

